Registering a vehicle in New Mexico is a requirement by law. Once you purchase a new or used vehicle it will be up to you to make sure it is properly licensed in the state. The law also requires vehicles from out of state to be registered and licensed when you make New Mexico your home.
For first time new vehicle registrations, you must physically go to a Motor Vehicle Division office. You will need to bring with you the original Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin, the original dealer’s invoice or a certified copy, proof of insurance, and an odometer statement.
The odometer statement used can be the odometer mileage statement on the back of the MCO, Odometer Mileage Statement (MVD Form 10187), or Application for Title and Registration (MVD Form 10002).
To register a used vehicle in your name for the first time, you must also physically go to a MVD office. You will need to bring the current outstanding Certificate of Title for the vehicle. Make sure the Assignment of Title section is completed and that you have the signature of the previous owner.
Also required to register a used vehicle is proof of insurance and an odometer statement. This statement can take the form of a completed Assignment of Title section on the back of the Certificate of Title, a bill of sale, an Odometer Discloser Statement (MVD Form 10009), or Application for Title and Registration (MVD Form 10002). It is very important that the buyer and seller sign a document showing that they agree on the odometer reading.
If you have moved and need to register an out of state vehicle in New Mexico, a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection is required before you can proceed with the registration process. These inspections are done at many, but not all, MVD offices and usually require an appointment to be scheduled. VIN inspections can also be performed by a Certified VIN Inspector.
For more information on the MVD and vehicle registration, visit www.mvd.newmexico.gov.
The registration fee for passenger vehicles is calculated using the weight and model year of the vehicle. These fees will be from $27.00 to $62.00 for a one (1) year registration or $54.00 to $124.00 for a two (2) year registration.
The cost for trucks with a declared gross vehicle weight (DGVW) of 26,000 pounds or less are also calculated based on the weight and model year of the vehicle. Fees for these types of vehicles are from $38.00 to $207.00 for a one (1) year registration or $76.00 to $414.00 for a two (2) year registration.
Emission Certificate of Inspection
If you will be registering your vehicle in Bernalillo County, you are required to have an emission inspection certificate. A few of the exceptions to this are new vehicles sold by a dealer with a MCO document, 1974 and older vehicles, motorcycles, diesel powered vehicles, and vehicles weighing more than 26,000 lbs.
Proof of Insurance
New Mexico motorists are required to maintain the states minimum requirement for liability motor vehicle insurance. These minimums are:
– $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person,
– $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons, and
– $10,000 for property damage in any one accident.